Although I’m pretty new in being an entrepreneur, I know that running a business is tiring, time-consuming, and often frustrating. Also, it’s not uncommon for the “Entrepreneurial Light” to burn out. My tip is then to always see the positive sides of a situation and to be passionate and excited about my products and services. This passion, this enthusiasm are the key drivers to a successful relationship with my customers.

And when I am a bit down, I am always remembering what are my main motivations:

  • I love my products and services, because I genuinely believe that they are of great quality and originality for my customers. Their wedding images, their family portraits, their corporate images will remain forever and constitute their memories of that special day, moment or period of life. It is essential to me that they get the best images; they deserve it.
  • I love my customers and I love sharing their emotions during their wedding, honeymoon, engagement.
  • I chose to become an entrepreneur in photography by leaving a very comfortable situation (socially and financially). The roots of this decision are crucial in my life: my family needed it, I needed to turn my passion into my daily job. This was a mature decision that will hugely improve our quality of life. This is one of my key motivation driver.
  • I have plans and projects for the future, in which I see my business growing. I am dreaming of a comfortable and famous studio, hiring some 10 people, specialized in high quality portraiture and wedding. I can picture it in my mind: a wonderful colonial-style house, with some reception rooms, a nice and calm music of happiness and a subtile fresh coffee perfume; happy customers discovering their images in a slideshow on a huge screen; a team of photographers working on a fashion project in a well-equiped studio room; a team of editors and designers working on images post-processing, logo and cards creation … This is my dream, this leads my actions.

Ray Kroc (founder of McDonald’s) said, “If you work just for the money, you’ll never make it, but if you love what you’re doing, and always put the customer first, success will be yours.”

My advice would then be very simple: Be passionate! Be excited! Love your business, your customers, and the simple joys of small business ownership. Pass that passion on to your employees and customers, and you’ll see a phenomenal difference in the growth and success of your business!

Post inspired by the great Clate Mask from Infusionsoft.