Since last week-end, I am driving across Mauritius in my quest to find new places where to bring couples for taking some nice, original and typical images. I am trying to discover interesting sites which represent Mauritius and Mauritian life at their best. I was always convinced that Mauritius is mis-sold to foreigners as a beach paradise; to me, Mauritius is far more than just white-sand beaches. You can enjoy some exceptional mountain views, unexplored primary forest, wonderful falls, Britannia-like rocky coasts, extremely diverse cultural aspects (from India, China, Africa, Europe …) in buildings, faces, celebrations, food; in Mauritius, colors are exacerbated by the tropical sun – great blue of the ocean, the lagoon and the sky, amazing green in the tropical vegetation, incredible red-braun of the land, supreme white of the beaches, numerous fabulous rainbows …

Yesterday, while driving in the North, I came across a sugar cane field in fire in order to prepare the cut. Sugar cane have to be burned so that the sugar concentrates in the middle of the cane and gives it best savior. The landscapes of Mauritius completely change during this process – unseen mountain views just open up in front of your eyes. The fire sometimes provide incredible scenarios as it is very close to the roads or to petrol stations ! Here some shots I managed to take yesterday …